|HCC Site ID:||1565||Parish:||Shedfield|
|Designations:||House LB II, SMR||Area:||Medium|
|Access:||No Public Access||Ownership:||Multiple Private|
Location and Site
Shedfield House is situated to the north west of Shedfield and the A334. The village of Shedfield is in a valley with sandy soil, therefore good for drainage.
The site of the estate has been the subject of several archaeological digs which have uncovered far-reaching past history. The course of an old Roman road runs through the estate; excavations in 1874 revealed 23 Roman kilns; and in 1982, the Phillimore family uncovered a Romano-British site. There was a 13th century farmhouse which was rebuilt in the early 17th century. It is noted on the 1575 Saxton map as Shidfelde. It was part of the Bishopric of Winchester and the house was enlarged over the years with many alterations and additions to the house. The largest, perhaps, was in 1731 when lived in by Thomas Missing 1, a very prominent citizen. It later became the country seat of Adam Jellicoe 1767 , an ancestor of Admiral Jellicoe of Jutland. To the east of the house, parkland was known from this time as The Lawn. The house was perhaps tenanted for some years. The 1837 sales notice referred to the residence as situated in ‘a small, well-timbered park … and surrounded by a lawn and beautiful pleasure grounds and shrubberies’, In 1839 James George Boucher 1 (formerly James George Crabb) lived there. followed by his son James George Boucher II in 1859. (Note: the Crabb-Boucher family also lived at Shedfield Lodge).
Sales details of 1866 referred to ‘a Well-Appointed Residence… presenting a Picturesque Appearance in a Small Park’ The sales map of 1866 gives the name as Shedfield, and shows a sweeping entrance drive from the southern road (now A334), a fishpond, a walled kitchen garden, and parkland extending from the road, around the house and to the north east of the property.
Bought by the newlyweds, Admiral Sir Augustus Phillimore in 1866-7, the house underwent interior modernisation and enlargement. A large school room was added with a dairy below at he west end of the north wing and the number of servants’ bedrooms was increased. The estate at this time was 164 ha (405 acres). The 1870s O S maps show a belt of trees had been planted to the south and west of the property immediately adjoining the A334 and the minor road to Waltham Chase (Sandy Lane). The roads formed the southern boundary of the parkland that extended north to the fishpond. The 1910 OS map shows that the parkland had reverted to the 1866 sales map boundary, and many trees had been planted to the south and west of the house. Campion noted in 1923 that the house stood in 45 acres (18.2 ha) of grounds.
In 1976 a Country Club and a golf course were opened to the north east of the property, which incorporated the fishpond.
In 2004 the house and 3 ha (7.4 acres) were offered for sale. This included a walled kitchen garden, the site of a former grass tennis court and a paddock; a small arboretum, laid out as a Peace Garden after the 1st World War, and the south lawn that has some fine specimen trees planted in Victorian times. The former stables are to be retained for two years, and used as offices.The walled kitchen garden remains.
Since the start of the 21st century, various farm buildings have been restored and the Estate has developed as a Business Centre. There are three main businesses, Shedfield Grange Far; Shedfield House Dairy and Colliers Orchard. There is also a Marriott Hotel and Country Club on the site. The house was for sale in 2013 but does not appear to have sold as it is for sale (March, 2014). The interior is described has having 12 bedrooms and a wealth of period features, including a pair of Arts and Crafts fireplaces by Christopher Hatton Turner, apprentice to Lutyens. It is offered with seven acres of charming grounds including a formal garden with water garden, woods, a Peace garden with specimen trees and shrubs. The walled garden is not named in the Sales Details. One wing has two rented apartments and there is a detached cottage, also rented. There are permissions for further extensions and conversions.
Late 18th century and early 19th century picturesque small park; house rebuilt during the 17th century and many additions. Adjacent Country Club and Golf Course, built on the NE boundary, 1976, incorporated the fishpond. Formal gardens, peace garden woods and the gardens to the south of the house remain. Various archaeological remains found.
HGT Research: September 2002, updated November 2004/2014
The Phillimore Papers 1997
Harrington’s Estate Agents – Sales advertisement 2014