|HCC Site ID:||1559||Parish:||Old Alresford|
|Designations:||HE II; House LB II*; Various buildings listed; AHBR; SSSI||Area:||16 ha|
|Access:||No public access||Ownership:||Private|
Location and site
Old Alresford House (II*) stands on the north bank of the Itchen Valley, a little to the north of New Alresford.
Park of 16ha laid out by Richard Woods, in 1764, as the setting for a country house.
The house was built between 1749 and 1751 by William Jones for Admiral Lord Rodney (d.1792). It abuts Colden Lane, the northern boundary of the site, and is separated from the B3046 which forms the western boundary, by the churchyard of St Mary’s. From the house there are views south across the park, over Alresford Pond, and out into the countryside.
The east and west wings of the house form a court on the north or entrance front, brick walls, an ironwork screen and a pair of wrought-iron gates (II) dividing the house from the road. To the east of the house, on the site of the stableyard, is a C20 rose garden. Pleasure grounds, separated from the park by a haha, lead to the beech walk down the east side of the park, which screens the adjoining estate, Upton Park.
The haha continues south of the house, the park beyond it sloping gently down to the Bighton Road which forms the southern boundary. A small stream runs through the south-west corner.
The park was laid out in 1764, for Lord Admiral Rodney, by Richard Woods, on land between Old Alresford House and Alresford Pond which Rodney had purchased in 1755. The pond dates from the mid C12 when Godfrey de Lucy, Bishop of Winchester, constructed the Great Weir, a dam 350m long, across the River Alre. To the north-east of the house is a new (1990) house, the remains of the service buildings, and stretches of flint and brick kitchen garden walls.
The kitchen garden in part pre-dated Woods’ work although he extended the complex eastwards. An icehouse stands at the northern-most corner of the site at the top of the beech walk.
‘Country Life’, v.163, 1978, 18-21
Jacques, D., ‘Georgian gardens’, 1983, 83
plan by Richard Woods, 1764
Thomas Milne, 1791
Architectural and picturesque views of noble mansions in Hampshire taken and drawn on stone by J Hewetson. London: James Carpenter Son, 1830.
Hyde Historic Resources Centre photographs by R Savage, Mid 19 century 3965, 4588. Old Alresford House.
John Duthy 1839 – The Architectural Antiquities and Topography of the County adjacent to the River Itchen from Alresford to Southampton. Copy held by HCC Historic Landscape section.
J. HEWETSON 1830. Engravings: Architectural and Picturesque views of Noble Mansions in Hampshire – Printed by C Hulmandel. Copies held by HCC Historic Landscape section.
English Heritage Old listing;
Click here to visit Historic England (HE) site for this location
HE description rewritten: September 1999 Register Inspector: KC Edited: February 2004