|HCC Site ID:||1654||Parish:||Waterlooville|
|Designations:|| Lodge LB II;
|Access:||No Public Access||Ownership:||R.C Comprehensive School|
Location and Site
Oaklands school is between Purbrook and Bedhampton, nestled between the A27 south, the A3 east, Stakes Hill Road west, and Frendstaple Road to the north. Simmonds Hill, Johnson’s Coppice, a pond and small stream separates it from the busy A roads.
The house was built c1820 on the site of Stakes farm. In the 1842 tithe map, the walled vegetable garden, the sunken garden in front of the house, the drive and farmyard access are clearly defined.
The estate, with the three storied Georgian house built facing due south, was bought by General Sir Charles James Napier in 1851. During his occupancy and that of his wife, and heir, General William Craig Emilius Napier, trees were planted, the flag tower appears, the lodge, and the “glass corridor” leading from the front door to the carriage sweep. Glass houses were built in and around the walled garden. The farm and land including the timber was mortgaged by the next owner, after which the estate seems to have been unoccupied for a while, until it was bought by Colonel William Hugh Williams who sold Stakes Copse to Mr.Hulbert, who sold him 2 cottages on Stakes Hill Road, which changed the value of the agricultural land to building land.
In 1938, the estate seems to have been neglected, and although the walled garden, the sunken and the lodge had survived, by 1946 the ‘glass corridor’ had disappeared. The Sisters of the Cross bought the House and c90 acres (36.42ha) in 1946, opening the Holy Cross School the following year and in 1966 Oaklands R. C. Comprehensive School. As school buildings increased, land was sold to the local council for development.
There now (2001) stands the Georgian house, part of the school buildings with the sunken garden and remains of the walled garden. The crooked southern boundary hedge survives, as do several immense oak trees in the hedge, and some mulberry trees adjacent to the sunken garden. The lodge is now listed.
A late Georgian house stands as it was built, facing the sea and the sunken garden with the old wall, iron paling bordering one of the drives and the parts of the wall of the kitchen garden all combine to add quality to the school grounds. Even though the traffic on the busy roads roar near the house, sufficient of the grounds remains to give the effect of peace and tranquility.
HGT Research: January 2001